A gluten-free beer is one produced using gluten-free raw materials like sorghum, rice, corn and millet. Beer produced using gluten-containing raw materials like wheat, barley and rye cannot be labeled as "gluten-free." The FDA and TTB state that, in absence of a scientifically valid testing method (which they say does not currently exist), one cannot substantiate a gluten-free claim for a malt beverage that is crafted to remove gluten. However, if a malt beverage starts with gluten-containing raw materials and has been crafted to remove gluten, the designation "crafted to remove gluten" may be used, with qualification that the gluten content cannot be verified and the product may contain gluten. At New Belgium, our beers start with barley malt and have been "crafted to remove gluten" through the utilization of an enzyme (Brewers ClarexTM) capable of breaking gluten proteins down into small fragments.