It’s important to know that wheat allergies are typically
gluten allergies. The fraction of gluten that causes allergies is called
prolamin and it exists in different forms in wheat, barley and rye.
Beers that contain wheat can range from 100 ppm to 200 ppm prolamin and
beers that do not contain wheat can range from 4 ppm to 30 ppm
prolamin. The government considers anything under 10 ppm prolamin and
20 ppm gluten to be “gluten free”. Please be aware that non-wheat beers
contain gluten too and most craft beers are not “gluten free”. Fat Tire, for example, is 76 ppm gluten, and therefore might cause an allergic reaction in folks who are allergic!
Specifically, the following beers contain wheat and if you have an allergy, you should definitely avoid:
Wit, Sunshine Wheat, Biere de Mars, Dandelion Ale, Dark Kriek, Eric’s
Ale, Imperial Berliner Style Weisse Ale, Le Fleur Misseur Ale, Le
Terroir Dry hopped Sour Ale, Transatlantique Kriek, Hoptober, Snow Day
and Ken’s Hefe.
You can check this out for yourself on The Beer Masher!
Select “Grain” on the left menu and then select any grain that contains
the word “wheat” to view all of the beers we make with wheat!