When we decided to create a beer for beer lovers watching their gluten intake, we started experimenting with gluten free grains like quinoa, millet, sorghum and rice. While the resulting flavors were interesting, beers made with these grains tasted just like the grain from which they were produced -- not the same flavor we have come to expect from beer made using barley malt.
Lucky for us there is another way to produce gluten-reduced beer made with grains that contain gluten. This method involves the use of an enzyme – a protein with a specific function – that breaks down gluten into smaller fragments. We add this enzyme in the brewing process and analyze the finished beer in the lab using the industry-supported R5 Competitive ELISA method. This creates a beer with all of the barley malt-derived flavor without all the gluten.
[The fine print: This product is fermented from grains containing gluten and crafted to remove gluten. The gluten content of this product cannot be verified, and this product may contain gluten.]